Who is Sara Satterly?

Meet Sara 

sara_satterly_dance_professional_photo
Visual and Performing Arts Dance Department students in the Pao Hall dance studio. (Purdue University/ Mark Simons) Sara Satterly, 2016

An exclusive interview with one of the Purdue Division of Dance’s most talented dancers.

 

Interview:

What is your major? 

Nursing, with a minor in Spanish and Dance!

Why did you choose your major?

I chose dance because I have been dancing all of my life and I wanted to continue pursuing my passion in my college years. Being involved in the dance community is very important to me. When I came to college, I wanted to explore the opportunities I had to dance at Purdue. I decided to minor in dance because I wanted to integrate dance in my academic experience, and balance my rigorous academic courses with classes in which I could express myself through movement.

 

What has been your favorite class thus far?

My favorite class thus far has been DANC 301, or Modern III. I arrived at college after training in classical ballet, which is a type of dancing with a very specific movement vocabulary. I feel that Modern III challenged me to become a more grounded dancer, and allowed me to utilize my whole body to move through the space.

 

Do you have any advice to underclassmen in this major?

My advice for those who wish to be a dance minor is to get as involved in the Purdue dance community as possible. I know that it can be tough to balance classes with dancing. However, Purdue Division of Dance has many wonderful opportunities to grow as a dancer, such as classes, contact-improvisation jams, faculty and student productions, and master classes with guest artists. I feel that even though dance is not a major here at Purdue, it seems that I never stop dancing or moving.

 

What are your future career aspirations?

I hope to become a labor and delivery nurse after college. In addition, I hope to continue pursuing my passion for dance, either as a dancer or as a choreographer.

 

What made you choose Purdue?

I chose Purdue because it was the university with the most rigorous education for the most affordable price. Since I am an in-state student, Purdue was a great option because I could pay less for tuition and receive a fantastic education relatively close to home.

 

 

To keep up with other student dancers like Sara, follow Purdue Division of Dance on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

